F or T

“INFJ’s (Introverted – iNtuition – Feeling – Judging): Seek meaning and connection in ideas, relationships, and material possessions. Want to understand what motivates people and are insightful about others. Conscientious and committed to their firm values. Develop a clear vision about how best to serve the common good. Organized and decisive in implementing their vision.”

What do you think? Does that personality type sum me up pretty well?

If you’re not sure, join the club.

The other possible option reads thus: “INTJ’s (Thinking vs. Feeling): Have original minds and great drive for implementing their ideas and achieving their goals. Quickly see patterns in external events and develop long-range explanatory perspectives. When committed, organize a job and carry it through. Skeptical and independent, have high standards of competence and performance – for themselves and others.”

Skeptical and independent, check. Original mind, see post on Walter Mitty. I trace patterns across stories, books, and people. And high standards of competence and performance? That’s a nice way of saying “overachieving snob.” Which, let’s be honest, is a great assessment of my more noticeable issues.

But then I look back at the first one. Meaning and connection, conscientious and committed. I can see that. I got a bit tripped up when it came to material possessions, and I was pondering the meaning of this in great depth as I was painting a mural on my wall. Then I stopped and realized what I was doing – physically connecting the room I live in with my ideas, relationships, and motivations. So, apparently that one fits.

And I have always wanted to understand what motivates people. (In fact, if you wanted to reply to this post with a general statement about what motivates you in life, you’d make my day.)

But if I choose the first, that makes me a Feeler, not a Thinker. That doesn’t mean I don’t think, of course. It just means that I make decisions based on my feelings and the feelings of others, rather than on rational, logical, defendable reasons. This is confusing because I pride myself on being able to reason and rationalize, helping people be efficient and make decisions on a practical level (see “overachieving snob.”)

But when I make decisions for myself, for my heart, for my own insides’ well-being and balance, I weigh my values and ideals with the effect on the people around me, and logic-be-hanged.

This makes me a Feeler. It makes me a fluffy, people-centered, gut-driven, F.

Perhaps another day I’ll tell you how this revolutionized my life. But for today I’m  going to go get in touch with my feelings.

 

References:

H. Willman & L. Howerth. (2013). An Informal Interpretation of Your Personality. Friendship Press, Pendleton, IN.

Myers & Briggs Foundation. (2003). The 16 MBTI Types. Retrieved September 22, 2013, from http://www.myersbriggs.org/my-mbti-personality-type/mbti-basics/the-16-mbti-types.asp#ISFJ.

3 thoughts on “F or T

  1. auntpatrice September 21, 2013 / 7:49 pm

    I know I don’t know you well Ashleyne, but I do know this personality type. This is Jake’s Type. I also know only 3% of the population Has this type. Which confirms what I’ve already surmised , that you’re pretty special. Hugs & prayers, Aunt Patrice

    Sent from my iPhone

    • dgooldy September 21, 2013 / 11:30 pm

      1-3%, are we [INFJ] are lucky to be amongst the few….but yet the strong (including Carl Jung, Thomas Jefferson, Nelson Mandela, Mother Theresa & Shirley Temple)

  2. dgooldy September 21, 2013 / 10:23 pm

    No shame in being an F! Join the club. We just need to remember that our faith is anchored in the facts of God and His word, and not on our inclination to rely on our feelings. (Actually our own Ney Bailey wrote a great book, Faith Is Not A Feeling, about that exact topic).
    But, what motivates me is life stories, hearing people out and sharing in the journeys that He has placed before us…..that and worship music full of clear Biblical truth.
    Thanks for sharing Ashleyne!

Leave a Reply

