Desk Life

I now have a desk – in an HR department – in an office – in an office building – in a small town – in Indiana. 

Back up 5 years and I would have said, “I’m sorry, what?” I would have expected a city life, in the social services field, spending my days with struggling people. 

But here I am. My official title is “Chief Storyteller and Temporary Assistant to Everyone Because We Don’t Know What Else to Do With You.” I’m planning to have a plaque made later this week. Maybe I’ll abbreviate it to “Writer/Gopher,” since I’m pretty cheap and the longer plaque sounds expensive. 

My desk is not particularly interesting, but I have taken a few extra minutes to gather the essentials. 

A blue racquetball to bounce when I’m feeling twitchy. Which is often.

Copies of Story Craft, A Writer’s Reference, and Bird by Bird to inspire me while I’m trying to write. I say trying because, honestly, going from writing one or two hours a week to thirty or so hours a week is like starting work as a gourmet chef with no experience: 95% of what you produce is going to be awful for quite some time and it’s sure as heck not going to look good.

A giant box of blank notecards to send to say thank you to all of the people who helped me get to this desk. 

A dust-covered corded phone, with multiple lines and little lights that light up. I don’t know how to use it. 

Snacks. Absolutely essential. And currently running dangerously low.

A calendar telling me how absurdly insane my summer is going to be with my Gophering duties. 

A large metal tool that I assume to be a hole-punch left here by the 70’s. 

Three motivational quotes printed and thumb-tacked to my cubicle walls, the most helpful of which states: “Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can.” – Arthur Ashe

That quote serves to stop me when I start spending many minutes thinking about how I could do a job better, and to propel me toward the process of just doing the job at all. 

Like writing a blog post. About my desk. Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can. And do it now. 

So I’m posting. 

And then going back to my gourmet cooking at my desk. Quail in a rosemary truffle sauce, anyone?

4 thoughts on “Desk Life

  1. Lisa Anderson June 3, 2014 / 4:35 pm

    I LOVE capers! 🙂
    Enjoy making a difference in the world from that desk! So glad you’re there!

  2. arlene brown June 3, 2014 / 8:52 pm

    OK Ashleyne I need something to read You can do This  Love YOU Grand ma B.

  3. Heather Willman June 3, 2014 / 11:00 pm

    Mmm sounds tasty! Is that dinner for Thursday? : )

Leave a Reply

