Real Questions

“My grandmother says that God speaks to her. I think she’s crazy. Is she crazy, or does that really happen?”
“If I accept Jesus, will I feel different? Will there be some sort of relief or something?”
“My family talks behind my aunt’s back when she brings her partner to family functions, but they say they’re Christians. Why does that happen?”
“Did God plan to send Jesus from the beginning or was Jesus already here and God said, ‘While you’re there, I need you to do something?'”
“Do I have to not believe in evolution if I believe in Jesus?”
“I don’t get the Holy Spirit thing. Is it God? Is it an actual spirit that possesses people?”
“Where does sin come from?”

Those were all questions that a college student asked me over coffee yesterday. When I met her the week before, she’d been quiet and polite and mostly just nodded along as I explained the gospel to her.

But this week, she came prepared with her questions – and from the way she asked them, I knew they were things that had been bothering her for a while.

I was surprised but delighted, and stumped more than once.

The longer we talked, the more I realized I was in over my head.

So, here’s my advice to you for today: Do your research before you start a conversation about Jesus. Because you never know what someone will throw at you.

And I’m going to go take my own advice before I talk with this girl again.

Leave a Reply

