A Little Extra

Classic wooden pipe with smoke and tobacco pile on vintage wood.

I was lying in my bed at 6:14pm, watching a British movie on my laptop, and trying to reassemble myself after a long workday. In the middle of a particularly odd scene in the movie, a thought appeared in my mind:

“This actor is really funny. It almost doesn’t matter what he does. He can just stand there and it’s funny. That man, with barely any adjustments, is a funny man.”

You know those people. The people who can look at you or a camera and just think something funny, and you immediately and spontaneously erupt into uncontainable laughter.

They’re out there. They’re special. They’ve got a little extra Funny. But why?

This is how I think of it:*

At some point in the vastness of eternity, God (who, very smart people tell me, is outside of time) sat at his workbench and thought of all of us. As he lit his pipe (my visual of God always smokes a pipe) and stroked his well-trimmed beard (none of that scraggly nonsense, my visual of God is not a hipster), he looked us over. And then he pointed at one person and said, “You. You get a little extra Funny.”

And the next person, he crooked an eyebrow at and said, “You there. You get a little extra Determination.”

Next, “Hmm. A little extra Silly and Wise.”

And so on, and so on, all the way from Genghis Khan to Tina Fey.

(In case you’re wondering, I think when he got to me, he smirked a little, took an extra puff on that pipe, and murmured, “Let’s keep ’em guessing. You get a little extra Propensity for Getting into Awkward Situations.”)

And then, he sat back, stretched out his legs in front of the fireplace, and said, “All right, kids. Go have fun with your little extras.”

 

If you knew for sure that God gave you a little extra of One Thing, would you do something with it? I know I would want to. But I’d have trouble knowing where to start.

So, what’s your little extra? Or your few extras? What are you going to do with them?

 

*The visual expression of God found in this post is purely anthropomorphic. Author is not responsible for creating false theology in the reader’s mind. But, come on now. Of course God smokes a pipe.

3 thoughts on “A Little Extra

  1. Dana Russo April 29, 2016 / 10:50 am

    Love your mind!

    *Dana Russo*

  2. Emily Sutherland April 29, 2016 / 11:35 am

    I like how you picture God… so inventive, loving and fun. I am thinking he also gave you a little extra sensitivity to know how to frame life and faith in words that make us think (and smile).

  3. janeseitz April 29, 2016 / 1:34 pm

    Read this to Dad. Laughed out loud. You got a little extra Funny, too!

Leave a Reply

