Guest Blog: Expert Advice

IMG_0268An introduction to this guest blogger feels necessary, but it can be short.

Unique in more ways than I can count, with the steadiness of an Ent and the wits of Lewis Carrol, this author loves knowledge, people, cooking, and words. She’s a champion frisbee player and a force to be reckoned with if you were crazy enough to go after one of her friends. Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you, today only, a post by Holly.

 

 


 

The last time I blogged was August 13, 2014. You know, the internet is very helpful for discovering that sort of information. So I feel a little rusty. It might take me a minute to find my sea legs. Bear with me, friends.

Smash asked me to guest blog about health. She gave me some freedom on the subject, saying I could write about emotional, spiritual, or physical health. Unfortunately, creating wider parameters usually only results in me staring at white paper for a very long time.

(Yes, I am writing this blog on actual paper.)
(No, I am not a hipster. It’s not like this is a typewriter.)
(Yes, I do own a typewriter. Stop asking questions.)

ron-swanson-gifs-memes-nick-offerman-birthday-2

It’s probably fine that she said I could write about any of them. They’re all pretty connected for me anyway. The overwhelming idea I keep coming back to as I think about health, though, is that I am not an expert. Pretty far from it. So why would I be asked to share my thoughts at all?

Maybe it’s so I can give you this truth bomb (don’t worry – it comes with a truckload of grace):

One of the healthiest – and kindest – things you can do for yourself today is acknowledge you’re not an expert, and that fact is 100% ok.

You don’t have to be an expert in emotional health. Licensed professionals went to school to help you process and create healthier emotional space. But just because they’re licensed professionals doesn’t mean they don’t also need someone to help them process. They do.

You don’t have to be an expert in spiritual health. Pastors and spiritual directors are here to guide you and create patterns of decision making in step with your faith. And pastors and spiritual directors stand on the shoulders of those who came before them. They need guidance, too!

You don’t have to be an expert in physical health. Doctors, nutritionists, and CrossFit coaches have been trained for this very purpose. As you might expect, they still need other people to care for them (I mean, a brain surgeon performing surgery on herself sounds insane, am I right?)!

I think the biggest thing you should see here is that you are not alone. Nor are you meant to be. We are gifted in different ways so that together we form a semi-functional and productive body.

Please hear this (from my wildly introverted and alone-time-loving heart):

We need each other. We need to do life together. We need community that loves deeply, encourages, challenges, speaks truth, and desires wellness and freedom for one another.

So…you know, just a couple of things to strive for, huh?

I’d love to hear ways you are pursuing health in your life and with your people.

Leave a Reply

