Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

ThinkstockPhotos-187927625

Life is full of decisions, both the kinds we make individually and decisions others make. Because of the sheer volume of choices required in order to stay alive and the immense number of forces outside our control, it is not actually possible to make wise and positive decisions all the time.

In other words: not all our decisions are winners. 

This is true even when we make decisions affecting only ourselves. For instance, wanting something new and different in my breakfast routine yesterday, I decided to put sauerkraut in my breakfast burrito. The burrito that also contained salsa. Let’s just say it was…leaky. And very, very sour.

ThinkstockPhotos-503761172And then there are other people’s decisions. We can’t control them, yet they still affect us. Like when you have a favorite grocery store and one of the cashiers asks you out in the most awkward way possible, making it extremely difficult for you to continue to shop there without it being super weird every week. Winner, winner, chicken dinner.

The point is, things get rough sometimes, because decisions are hard and not always up to us. What I’m working on this week:

  1. When a “non-winner” choice (by me or someone else) affects me, laugh about it. It probably actually is funny.
  2. Make a mental note to learn from said choice. For instance, sauerkraut and salsa aren’t friends before 6 am, and I shouldn’t try to force them to be.
  3. Move on. This is often the most difficult part for me, especially if it was my own decision-making that caused the issue. But I’m discovering that moving on is absolutely essential to my quality of life.

I’d love to hear your most memorable “non-winner” decision and how you moved on.

4 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

  1. Miranda Gehrke August 26, 2016 / 11:13 am

    I think Holly and you and I and any other housemates should have a face time date so i can hear about this grocery store story! 🙂

    • ashleyne August 29, 2016 / 9:45 am

      I’m all for the facetime date, but unfortunately this is not my story to tell… 🙂

  2. Julie August 29, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    A number of years back, I was helping out with childcare at MSBC. I stuck some popcorn in the microwave in the upstairs kitchen and ran down stairs to get apple juice. As I climbed the stairs I could smell the burning popcorn. The rooms were quickly filling with smoke as I opened windows and tried to minimize the damage. Within minutes the smoke alarms started blaring and I could hear the approaching fire engines. I considered finding a place to hide. Silly as it sounds, it took me years to tell anyone and just laugh at my mistake!

    • ashleyne August 30, 2016 / 11:31 am

      Oh my! I’ve had my run-ins with burning food, it’s surprisingly embarrassing. So I can understand not wanting to laugh about it! But in retrospect, it is pretty funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

