The Good Stuff: Tough Week Edition

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-10-24-11-am

Perhaps you are in the 1% of Americans that haven’t had a rough, physically exhausting, and emotionally draining week. If so, good for you! Live long and prosper, and go out and spread your own cheer.

This post is for the rest of us. If you need a pick-me-up emotionally, physically, relationally, spiritually, ecumenically, whatever…I’m with you. Read on for a few suggestions of how to recover.

 

Search YouTube for “full-length Hallmark movies.” One of my favorite things to do when I’m totally exhausted is watch incredibly cheesy, made-for-tv movies. Yes, they’re terrible and unrealistic. That’s the point. At the end of the movie, everything wraps up in a bow, and even the people who got rejected are doing fine. It’s an 88-minute reminder that life has good moments. Now, you might have to search through the results for a while to find a movie that wasn’t recorded on somebody’s phone or dubbed over in Tagalog, but there are lots of options so stick with it. Or if you have cable, just find the Hallmark channel.

Read Isaiah 43. This is my favorite part of what God has to say to us in writing, but right now it’s a great reminder that the end is never really the end and that even when things seem hopeless, they’re not.

Watch Benedict Cumberbatch and Jimmy Fallon write and perform a scene via MadLibs. I mean, when on earth does a brilliant British actor being silly on national television NOT cheer you up?

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-10-29-01-am

 

Tell someone a joke. My friend Molly is always good for a bad joke, and it’s one of the many things I love about her: she likes making other people smile. Texting is a particularly good way to tell jokes, because it lets people read and enjoy at their own convenience. Can’t remember any jokes? Come on, guys. You hold the internet in your hands. You can start here.

Give someone something just because. One of my favorite ways to do this is to go to a store for no other purpose but to wander around until I find something that reminds me of someone. And then I buy it and give it to them. If you want, you can save it for Christmas (we’re almost there?!?) but I’d recommend just giving it now. People love unexpected gifts that say, “I saw this and thought of you.” However, sometimes the item is wildly expensive, and you know you cannot purchase it. If so, text them, call them, email them, write them a card, and say, “I saw this thing and I so wanted to buy it for you, but I couldn’t afford it. Just wanted you to know I was thinking of you and I’d buy you a million of those if I could!” Trust me. If I heard that from you, I’d love it.

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-10-21-41-am

 

Give out free and unnecessary hugs. Although I would beware of hugging strangers, hugs are the best. Give them out like candy on halloween.

 

Smile. I like you guys. And remember, tomorrow is a new day.

One thought on “The Good Stuff: Tough Week Edition

  1. Carolyn Olsen November 11, 2016 / 4:59 pm

    Thank you-I will share this. Just reading it makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

