Ain’t No Shame

A young woman lying on her couch

 

Last night, I told myself I was going to stay up long enough to watch all of Jeopardy.

Yes, the Jeopardy that’s been on since 1964.

(I’m not exaggerating. I looked it up. 1964.)

And yes, the live show, which airs at 7:30pm.

My goal was to stay up until 8pm.

I am 28 years old.

And you know what? I’m not ashamed.

I know it’s funny, which is why I’m telling you about it. I know that a 28 year old single woman having to make herself stay up to watch Jeopardy on a Thursday night is humorous.

Because it’s not the average reality for someone my age. And when someone or something is wildly outside average, it’s often funny.

Dumb and Dumber? Outside average. Funny. Sheldon on the Big Bang Theory? Outside average. Funny.

But that does not – in any way – make it shameful. Societal average is not a moral measurement.

There is no “should” in what time you go to bed. There is no “should” in what you eat. There is no “should” in your IQ level. There is no “should” in how much you weigh. Those things, in and of themselves, are not moral issues.

There may be factors in your life that turn some of those things into moral issues. But society does not get to dictate that. You do.

So go to bed after Jeopardy if you want. Don’t be ashamed.

Like KJ says, “Don’t should all over yourself.”

One thought on “Ain’t No Shame

  1. arlene brown February 16, 2017 / 4:20 pm

    you sound like   me i like going to  bed early

Leave a Reply

